Newbiggin by the Sea Town Council »

Change the page appearance to:    Printer friendly version. Opens in a new window.

Newbiggin Town Council Logo

Newbiggin Nipper - Community Transport

Newbiggin Nipper logo.

Newbiggin Nipper bus service

The Newbiggin Nipper is run by WATbus (01670 522999), and funded jointly by Northumberland County Council and Newbiggin Town Council. The service was launched on 26th October 2010.

The hail and ride service, following the old 'Phoenix' route, operates on Tuesdays and Fridays from 9.15am until 1.00pm. The service is NOT open to the general public. You must first join the Newbiggin Nipper Travel Club.

Residents who in addition to the Nipper travel pass have a Concessionary Travel Pass issued by Northumberland County Council will be able to travel free. Other residents will be expected to pay a contribution of £1 per journey.

More than 1,100 journeys had been made using the Newbiggin Nipper by March 2011, since its launch in late October 2010.

Newbiggin Nipper Travel Club

The criterion for joining the Newbiggin Nipper Travel Club is that you cannot easily access and use ordinary local bus services in the town.

Applicants will be asked to complete an application form and pay £5 joining fee, which will cover the period from 1st April 2011 until 31st March 2012.

Residents will be able to apply for a Nipper travel pass at all the pensioner clubs and Carol O’Connall will distribute application forms, and collect the fees and issue passes.

About the Community Transport Working Group

Work has now concluded on the Community Transport Working Group, which was established to investigate options for providing local community transport to replace the Pheonix 'Little White Bus' service that was withdrawn in mid-July 2010.

The group included Cllrs Cholerton and Anderson, and members of the public, Doris Young and Carol O'Connall. They worked in partnership with officers of Northumberland County Council, in particular Andrew Harding and Ian Coe. We would like to extend our thanks to all involved in providing this extremely successful service.

More Information

For more information, please contact either Cllr Cholerton, Cllr Anderson or our Town Clerk, Dennis Earl.

Thanks to Jane Pritchett who designed the logo.